Dear visitor, I am Fr. Nicholas O’nyach, FHM.  l Welcome  you to our Franciscan Missionaries of Hope website.  I am currently the Superior General and also  one of the founding members of our Congregation.

We are  Franciscan Missionaries of Hope, commonly called “The Lyke Community ” named after Archbishop James Patterson Lyke, OFM.  We  originally begun  nine in number in 1993 but over the years five brothers left our community and only  four: Francis Ngumi Kamau, John Rwakiviiga Basiimwa, Nicholas Owino Onyach and Jogues Abenawe persevered with hope of laying the Foundation of our Lyke Community. Since then we have received other brothers  who are sharing  in our Mission of Hope.

Fr. Andre’ McGrath, OFM, His Grace Archbishop Raphael Ndingi Mwana’a Nzeki and Archbishop James
Patterson Lyke, OFM, of Beloved Memory, were instrumental in our discernment of the will of God
and initial stages of our Foundation and  development.

Our  Foundation was officially approved as a Public Association of Christ’s faithful in the
Archdiocese of Nairobi on 26th October 1999 with the Decree of His Grace Archbishop Raphael
Ndingi Mwana’a Nzeki.