Our Background

The Franciscan Missionaries of Hope,  (The Lyke Community) was founded in Nairobi, Kenya, in September of 1993 by nine (9) young men who had undergone their initial formation in the Order of Friars Minor (OFM). Of the nine Co-founders, 4 Brothers:   Francis Kamau, John Basiimwa, Nicholas Onyach, and Jogues Abenaweresolved to remain together under the spiritual directorship of Fr. Andre McGrath, OFM, who at that  time was Rector of Tangaza College, Nairobi.

Fr. McGrath played a major role in the foundation and the upkeep of the Franciscan Missionaries of Hope.  He is therefore considered a co-founder with both his spiritual, psychological, and material support during the infancy years of Franciscan Missionaries of Hope. He constantly reminded the brothers the importance of trust in God’s providence.

Since our foundation , we have been known as  “The Lyke Community” and we refer to each other as ‘ndugu’, a Swahili word for a brother/a sister/a comrade, or a close relative. This reflects the familial ties among the member of the Lyke Community.

We were s formally established as a Public Association of Christ’s Faithful on October 26, 1999, and our Constitutions was approved by the decree of Archbishop Raphael Ndingi Mwana a’ Nzeki, the then Archbishop of the Archdiocese of Nairobi, Kenya.

Our Mother-house is in Karen, Nairobi, Kenya. Its cornerstone was laid down by Archbishop Giovanni Tonucci, the then Apostolic Nuncio to Kenya  on November 8, 2002.


“For it is in giving that we receive.”

“Remember that when you leave this earth, you can take with you nothing that have received–only what you have given.”

“The deeds you do may be the only sermon some persons will hear today.”